GSOC 2017 project: Protocol Buffer Data Transport Layer

Hello!

My name is Nikita, I’m a second-year master student from Moscow and looking for a project to participate in Google Summer of Code this year.

I’ve found the project: https://github.com/numfocus/gsoc/blob/master/2017/ideas-list-stan.md
about implementing protocol buffer support for Stan.
Could you say, please, is it still relevant?

There is a proposal about it on wiki, does it mean that it’s already in work?

If this project is available I could start to see into and write an application for GSOC.
If not, It would be also very interesting for me to be involved in related tasks.

A few words about me:
I have a good background in math, algorithms and advanced machine learning. Currently I’m most engaged and doing research in theoretical optimization, but also interesting in programming and technologies.
I’m new to open source community but have some industrial experience (mostly in C++ and Python).
I have a webpage with CV located there.

Thanks!

Hi, the info on the Wiki is just to give people direction so yes the project is available. The way GSoC works is that you put in an application via GSoC and after the deadline period we look at the applications and decide if we have one we’re interested in working with. The deadline is April 3rd (not exactly sure about the cutoff, that’ll be on the GSoC website) so the only concern is that you’re cutting it close: the student’s portion of the application is really extensive (they basically want a design and implementation plan).

The eligibility requirements and application link are here: https://summerofcode.withgoogle.com/organizations/4968629817835520/

With your background it seems like it would be fairly straightforward and I’m happy to give feedback. They suggest using a Google doc for the application so it’s easy to share and get feeback.

Ok, thank you!

Then I start to work on the plan.
I’ll share the draft as soon as it’ll be ready.