Beginner Advice

Hello all!, I am an undergraduate statistics major at my university. I have taken one statistical inference course, a probability course, and have experience with regression modeling. As a curious undergraduate, I wanted to learn about Bayesian Modeling and through browsing reddit I found out about Stan! As a complete beginner (literally reading the first few chapters explaining bayesian thinking from Statistical Rethinking). I had a few questions about the resources manual that I found on the Stan page.

First off, I want to be able to have a very much so applied approach to learning about Bayesian statistics and Bayesian modeling, the case studies and papers, lectures and other resources sound like a great resource in addition to the book I am reading. My question is, where should I start? The lectures? Papers? Courses?

if so, which papers should I read as a beginner? Should I take a full course? What would be the best approach if you were all learning bayesian modeling and Bayesian statistics from scratch? There are a lot of resources so I want to make sure I spend time where it should be allocated effectively.

3 Likes

Howdy!
The book that you are using (Statistical Rethinking) is in my opinion, the best book for starting from scratch as a beginner to Bayesian modeling. I really like his free lectures on YouTube as well.
In addition, I think a great way for a beginner to start is by using the brms package, which uses Stan on the backend. It is extremely flexible and is also very user friendly, well-documented, and has numerous examples and vignettes. It has itā€™s own tag on this forum.
In addition, Solomon Kurz has put together a wonderful resource where he has worked through the Statistical Rethinking book using brms, rather than the rethinking package.
Good luck!

3 Likes