Advise about linking models / two-stage modeling structure

Hi there, I’m looking for advice about the best way to link two models that predict the same response together in Stan. Specifically, for a given location, I’m trying to simultaneously model the total biomass of a population, as well as the counts of the component members of the population by size category. I can model each separately successfully, but would like to combine them such that the information from the total model informs the count model if possible. I think there must be a way to do this via either the ODE solvers or the algebra solver, but I’ve no experience and need some friendly advice to get me going down the right path.

Here is a simplified example of the total model:

// total model

data {
  int<lower=1> N;
  int<lower=1> P;
  real<lower=0> bio[N];
  matrix[N, P] X;
}

parameters {
  real kappa0; // intercept
  vector[P] kappa; // biomass predictors
  real<lower=0> inv_beta; // rate
}

transformed parameters {

real <lower=0> alpha[N];
  real <lower=0> beta[N];
  alpha = exp(kappa0 + X * kappa); 
  beta = 1 / inv_beta;
}

model {    
  target += normal_lpdf(kappa0 | 0, 0.5); 
  target += normal_lpdf(kappa | 0, 0.1); 
  target += normal_lpdf(inv_beta | 0, 0.5);

target += gamma_lpdf(bio | alpha, beta);
}

And here is a simplified example of the count Poisson hurdle model:

// count model

data {
  int<lower=1> N;
  int<lower=1> n_sizes;
  int<lower=1, upper = n_sizes> size[N];
  int<lower=0> y[N]; // count in each size
}

parameters {
  real<lower=0, upper=1> theta[n_sizes];
  real log_lambda[n_sizes];
}

model {
  target += beta_lpdf(theta | 5, 1);
  target += normal_lpdf(log_lambda | 0, 1);

for (n in 1:N) {
    if (y[n] == 0) {
      target += bernoulli_lpmf(1 | theta[size[n]]);
    } else {
      target += bernoulli_lpmf(0 | theta[size[n]]);
      target += poisson_log_lpmf(y[n] | log_lambda[size[n]]);
    }
}