Regressing observed rates on self-reported frequencies measured in two stages

Hi! First post; apologies as I’m still learning the community norms. (Pointers welcome!)

I have some survey data, collected during winter months across many years, where the individual responses include:

• burn_ydy: whether the respondent burned wood yesterday
  • burn_freq_lvl: self-reported “typical” frequency during winter months

Just looking at the means by burn_freq_lvl, it seems that self-reported “typical” rates generally exceed observed rates. See tabulation below, where wtd_prop*7 is the mean of burn_ydy, weighted by srv_wt, multiplied by 7. For example, among people who report burning “5 day/week”, the observed frequency is more like 3.3 day/week.

Regressing burn_ydy on burn_freq_lvl would be somewhat straightforward except that burn_freq_lvl is measured as follows:

First, the respondent is asked whether they burn wood:
a. “Never”
b. “At least once a week”
c. “Less than once a week”

If “b”, the follow-up question is:

• About how many days per week?

If “c”, the follow-up is:

• Less than once per month, once per month, or 2-3x per month?

Complicating the analysis is that the respondent can decline to answer at either stage. So the possible responses and their counts are:

burn_freq_lvl     n  sum_wt wtd_prop*7
1                         Never 19864 20272.3     0.0000
2      Less than once per month   534   610.4     0.0737
3                Once per month   731   697.3     0.0934
4  Two to three times per month   761   722.5     0.4935
5         Less than once a week    41    35.1     1.1764
6          At least once a week   123    96.8     1.0461
7                    1 day/week   365   358.9     0.8565
8                    2 day/week   427   387.1     1.0310
9                    3 day/week   390   319.5     2.1829
10                   4 day/week   202   140.3     2.9454
11                   5 day/week   175   126.2     3.3151