Tips for speeding up a model fit...I cut it off at 10 days

Hello!

I’m new to Stan / BRMS and have hit a bit of a snag. I’m trying to model data where the outcome variable of interest is the number of tries a participant takes to get a particular question/item right (out of a maximum of 26 tries), and we’d like to investigate the effect of having been exposed to the type of material the item is drawn from before. Each participant is presented with either 38 or 58 items, and each item is drawn from a different subject to which the subject has either been exposed or not. There are about 4500 items exposed to 100 subjects, with some items being used more than once but not a lot. Probably about 2700 unique items, 4500 rows of data.

Initially I tried modeling it this way, in a jupyter notebook. df_long has the following relevant columns:

• num_guesses is the outcome variable of interest, and it is an integer between 1 and 26

• Exposed_to_subject is an integer betwee
    df_long_for_stan_forum.csv (3.3 KB)
    n 0 and 100, where 0 means “has not been exposed to the subject matter” and an integer n between 1 and 100 means “was exposed to the subject matter n days ago”.

• Model_ans_prob is a language model’s attempt at the task (number of guesses it took the language model to get it right), which we hope will pull out a lot of variance that isn’t due to Exposed_to_subject, because the items vary greatly in difficulty (some are no-brainers, some you will never get without methodically going through a lot of the possible 26 answers). Exposed_to_subject is what we’re really interested in as a predictor of num_guesses. It is a float between 0 and 1.

• ppt.code is an alphanumeric code that is unique to each participant.