Model Help: Rolling Regression and Varying Slopes

Hi all,

I tend to use brms to do modelling with Stan and am a little out of my depth when it comes to implementing some types of model. I was wondering if anyone could help.

Imagine that I want to model how two variables, x_1 and x_2 affect some binary variable y. But assume also that I have some prior knowledge that their effects will change over time. For the avoidance of doubt, I have data on multiple respondents at each time point.

To model this, I use a “rolling regression” as follows:

y_{i} \sim \mathrm{Bernoulli}(\pi_{I}) \\ logit(\pi_{i}) = \alpha_{t} + \beta_{1t} x_{1ti} + \beta_{2t} x_{2ti}\\ \alpha_{1} \sim \mathrm{Normal}(0, 1.5) \\ \alpha_{t} \sim \mathrm{Normal}(\alpha_{t-1}, \sigma_{\alpha}) \text{ for } t \in [2, \dots, T] \\ \beta_{1,1} \sim \mathrm{Normal}(0, 0.5) \\ \beta_{1,t} \sim \mathrm{Normal}(\beta_{1, t-1}, \sigma_{\beta_{1}}) \text{ for } t \in [2, \dots, T] \\ \beta_{2,1} \sim \mathrm{Normal}(0, 0.5) \\ \beta_{2,t} \sim \mathrm{Normal}(\beta_{2, t-1}, \sigma_{\beta_{2}}) \text{ for } t \in [2, \dots, T] \\

What do I need to do to specify a covariance structure to allow for pooling across \alpha, \beta_{1}, and \beta_{2}? (Any other tips welcome too!)

At the moment, my Stan code is as follows:

data {
  int<lower = 1> N; // Number of cases in the data
  int<lower = 1> T; // Number of days in the data
  int Y[N]; 
  vector[N] x1; 
  vector[N] x2; 
  int<lower = 1> time[N]; // Time tracker
  vector[N] w8; // Weights
}
parameters {
  vector[T] alpha; // Intercept
  vector[T] beta1; 
  vector[T] beta2; 
  real<lower = 0> sigma_alpha; // Intercept variability
  real<lower = 0> sigma_beta1; 
  real<lower = 0> sigma_beta2; 
}
model{

// Initialise linear predictor
  vector[N] mu;

// Specify model
  for(n in 1:N){
    mu[n] = alpha[time[n]] + beta1[time[n]] * x1[n] + beta2[time[n]] * x1[n];
  }

// Adaptive autoregressive prior on alpha
  target += normal_lpdf(alpha[1] | 0, 1.5);