Priors and variable-scaling in logistic regression - categorical variables with more than two factors?

I am a PhD student using logistic regression to investigate mental health epidemiology. Since participants in my cohort study have a diagnosis or not (coded 1 or 0) - I’m using logistic regression to estimate the assocation of mental health disorders with some categorical exposures

Reading Gelman et al. (2008), I understand one approach to Bayesian logistic regression (not hierarchical) is to standardize the input variables. They say, scale variables before setting priors by doing the following:

• “Binary inputs shifted to have a mean of 0 and to differ by 1 in their lower and upper conditions. (For example, if a population is 10% African-American and 90% other, we would define the centered “African-American” variable to take on the values 0.9 and −0.1.)”
  • “Other inputs are shifted to have a mean of 0 and scaled to have a standard deviation of 0.5. This scaling puts continuous variables on the same scale as symmetric binary inputs (which, taking on the values ±0.5, have standard deviation 0.5).”

Once data is scaled in this way, Gelman et al. (2008) and Gelman again in Stan Prior Choice Guidance recomend using a (scaled) Student’s t distribution with 3<\nu<7 as a weakly informative prior for the coefficients in the predictor.

BUT what if you have a multi-category variable: say ethnicity? Let me illustrate with an example:
What if I have the following ethnicities (UK-context, and by no means a full list of ethnicities!):

• White
  • Black-Caribbean
  • Black-African
  • South-Asian
  • East-Asian
  • Other

Now say I wanted to look at ethnicity as a predictor of the presence a mental health disorder (a dichotomous variable: 1 or 0). I would normally fit a model using dummy variables for

log(\frac{p_i}{1-p_i}) = \beta_0 + \beta_1x_{1i} + \beta_2x_{2i} + \beta_3x_{3i} + \beta_4x_{4i} + \beta_5x_{5i}