Scale Continuous Predictors

Dear All,

I am new to using brms and Bayesian modeling in general. However, I wanted to ask a basic question: I am planning to run mixed models of various types (binomial, zero-inflated poisson, and zero-one-inflated beta). I have collected information on lesions of various types in various regions within individuals. Therefore, I have nested categorical variables (region and lesion type) and continuous covariates (age, disease duration, etc). Is it advisable to scale the continuous predictors before running the models or does brms handle this internally when I run the models?

Thanks for your help with this naive question.

1 Like

brms takes the predictors that you give it, so as far as I am aware, if you want to have the responses scaled, then you need to do so yourself before sending anything to brms.

I would add that given your covariates you probably do want to scale them in some way - otherwise the regression output will by default be at value 0 for age (age 0) with 0 disease duration. That is probably not what you want.

1 Like

Thanks! Would the coefficients automatically be re-scaled to the original scales or how would I do that manually?

1 Like

No, the coefficients come back as what you have given them. Let’s say you scale it with a z-score (subtract the mean, and divide by the standard deviation). Then 0 is the average Age and +/-1 is +/-1 standard deviation in age from the average. That is how the coefficients will come back - so other parameters would be estimated at the average age (0) and the age coefficient would represent going up or down 1 SD in age. If you want to go back to the original scale then you could say that the SD of Age is XYZ years, and if we go up or down this amount in age vs. the average age, we expect the value of the outcome to change the amount that corresponds to the coefficient.

1 Like