Predict outcome based on previous counts

Hi! I’m very new to Bayesian analysis and Stan (but 15 yrs as software dev), but have a bunch of problems that ‘feel’ like a good fit. I’ve gone though about 150 pages of “Statistical Rethinking”, so I kind of understand the very basics… but taking a real world data set and analyzing it pushing my limits.

Any help to understand how to approach problem (the name of the problem I’m trying to solve), or resources/articles that address this problem would be very appreciated.
Also if there is a better place to ask this… I’m new to the community, so chose the best looking place.

Problem

Here’s the first problem I’d like to look at:

If a person attempts an activity X times, and they failed Y times, whats the probability they will succeed (or fail) the next time?

The objective would be to penalize/down-rank(??) those who fail more over more attempts, without over-penalizing those who had only tried a few times.

Sample Data Set

• opportunities - how many times they have the tried before the outcome (in this case I included the sample instance(+1) to move off 0, but I don’t know if this is good/bad - open to changing if bad)
  • failures - how many total times have they tried before the outcome
  • outcome - What was the outcome - success or failure
opportunities   failures  outcome
1               0         success   # Succeded 1 of 1 time
1               1         failure   # Failed 1 of 1 time
2               0         success   # Succeeded 2 of 2 times
2               2         failure   # Failed 2 of 2 times
10              2         failure   # Failed 2 of 10 times
100             3         success
200             25        success

The whole data set is highly skewed right - nearly ‘negative exponential’ looking - meaning:

• There are a lot of people that have only tried 1,2,3 times, and some that have tried up to 800 times