NUTS-within-Gibbs by stan

Hi all,
I am new to stan and have a basic question.
I want to revise the Metropolis-within-Gibbs sampler to something like the NUTs-within-Gibbs sampler by Rstan. Basically, we have a big Gibbs sampler to sample each parameter block on each iteration. For a few parameters whose priors are not conjugate, we originally applies Metropolis, so implement a Metropolis-within-Gibbs sampler in R, but now we want to replace those Metropolis steps by NUTs using stan. I just want to ask if it is possible for stan to give one posterior sample for those parameters on each iteration and output to R? Or to use stan, we must implement the whole algorithm by Rstan, to give up the Gibbs sampler? Thanks so much for any suggestions!

3 Likes