New to PyStan, looking for pointers for where to go

Hi,

I’m a software developer, not a statistician or data scientist, but I’ve been working with a statistician to help them use PyStan, and I’m interested in possibly contributing.

My relevant expertise is on the python and C++ side. I’m interested in:

• Helping finish PyStan 3 (as I understand this will move PyStan off the GPL, in addition to other API improvements)
  • Improving the UX of the boundary between C++ and Python (cleaner error messages, simpler compilation/bindings, safer portability of models across runtimes and machines)
  • Building better diagnostics/debugging tools

I’m curious to learn where I should look for the latest PyStan development (I’m guessing pystan-next?) and if there are any good starter tasks to learn some of the codebase.

Thanks! I’ll be around pydata nyc tomorrow if anyone wants to say hi!

2 Likes

Welcome! This is the right place to ask. I’m ccing the PyStan devs: @ariddell @ahartikainen. I’m sure there are more that contribute.

I know a bit about the C++ boundary. So do a bunch of others including @mitzimorris, @seantalts, @sakrejda, and a few others.

Hi Lief. Glad to hear you’re interested in helping out. The PyStan 3
effort could certainly use help. PyStan 3 is (somewhat) usable right
now. There’s a wheel in the Releases of the stan-dev/pystan-next
repository which you can install. (You might also want to read

)

If you’re interested in the C++/python interface you can look at
stan-dev/httpstan. The biggest issue here is performance. There are
IO/threading issues which make things about 10x slower than they should
be. I’m working on that now.

Hi Leif! I’ll be there later today for your talk :)