Hierarchical model 101: Link, categorical without baseline, posterior predictive checks

Dear brms users,

I feel my questions are more general modeling related than specifically to brms, but since I used brms to fit the model, I thought I should post it here, perhaps also to reflect that I am a beginner with bayesian stats and modeling, and relatively bad at using R, and completely illiterate with stan.

That being said, I was wondering if I could get some opinions on setting up a hierarchical model, or keywords I should use for searching to further inform me. I feel like this post has become quite long and apologise for this. Should you frown on the novel I have written below and have suggestions for a different strategy to get help / progress on my own, before embarking on reading it, they are most welcome!

I want to model correlations, which are the result of many performance evaluations of a “machine-learning” (ml) model I built independently from this brms model. It predicts time series, performances ranging between (pearson correlation) .1 and .4.
I guess that ideally, I would implement this initial ml model already in a bayesian framework, however, I feel that a good hierarchical model for model performances of any generic model would be a nice thing to have and a good way for me to step into hierarchical modeling.
I use a nested-cross-validation approach where I train the ml model on a part of the data, validate it on another and test it on a third, and the associations of data portions to train, validate and test sets are circularly permuted, so that I end up with 6 “outer fold” performances (correlations) for each unit and subunit.