Bimodal prior

Hi,
I’m new to Bayesian analysis and BRM. After a couple of days, I haven’t found how to address this issue, so thank you for your advice:

I have an ordinal variable (e.g., 1,2,3,4,5) which the result of a Likert scale (We asked participants to tell us from 1 to 5 how much they liked the stimuli heard over headphones). We want to predict that outcome from several continuous variables measured from this stimuli. For example, some of the stimuli was produced with a low frequency (in Hz) and some was produced with a high frequency. All the stimuli was produced by a single speaker. Naturally, this variable has a bimodal distribution. I want to include this information in the prior for this variable, but I just can’t find how to do it.

Can somebody point me in the right direction, please?

Thanks in advance,

Could your variable (low/high frequency) be coded as 1 and 2?

No, it’s a continuous predictor

Between which values?

Hi Richard,

The values are between 80 Hz to 400 Hz. I’d like to find how increasing frequency affects the outcome.
I also have a categorical variable with ‘low’ and ‘high,’ as you previously suggested, but we prefer the continuous variable for our study.

Cheers,

Can’t you just standardize the predictor, i.e., (x_i - \bar{x}) /\sigma_x, and then set a Normal(0,whatever) on it?

I think there is some confusion here. If a predictor variable is bimodal, then you don’t need to do anything special with the prior. The "prior for a predictor variable* is more accurately a prior for the coefficient that multiplies the predictor variable. Is there any reason that your domain knowledge suggests a bimodal prior distribution for the estimated coefficient? If not, you don’t need a bimodal prior here, regardless of whether the predictor is bimodally distributed or not.