Priors for a novice

I’m trying to move beyond default priors in brms and thus did a lot of reading during the last weeks since I’m a novice.

In general, I’ve got the impression that there are many arguments against using very vague and especially flat priors (this one I found very informative: https://betanalpha.github.io/assets/case_studies/weakly_informative_shapes.html). And yet, when I look at published articles using Bayes in my area (education and psychology), most authors argue that they had not a lot of prior information about the parameters, so that they rather used very vague priors such as N(0, 10000).

My question is, whether the actual response scales that we use in the study do not already provide a lot of information that we can use. For instance, my response variables can only take values between 0 and 4, because they represent scores on such a likert-type scale. So my understanding is that a regression coefficient for a given predictor is probably close to 0 and cannot be larger or smaller than 4/-4. Or am I misunderstanding this? So based on this, I would think that a prior of the form N(0,4) should be a useful prior? Would this be considered a very informative prior?

PS: I’ve posted a lot of questions during the last weeks, but I’m afraid there is still no end to it since I’m trying to get familiar with bayesian analysis and brms more specifically having this forum (and of course the www) as my only help… Hence, many thanks for all your help, especially Paul’s!

4 Likes

Hi Pia!

Generally, I’d say you are on the right track. When I started out learning Bayesian Stats and Stan, the prior was fairly mysterious to me. The more I worked on real applications, the more I felt comfortable to apply reasonable priors – and the more I realized just how ridiculous those seemingly uninformative priors often are.