Best Practices for Writing Multilevel Model in STAN

I am being introduced to Stan through Richard McElreath’s book, Statistical Rethinking, and am also trying to learn how to write model code directly in .stan files. The example models here https://github.com/stan-dev/example-models/wiki have been very helpful.

Is there a current ‘best practices’ approach to writing multilevel models? For example, is there a best way to write a linear or logistic model with multiple, nested group-level factors that is both (1) fast and (2) legible to someone who is used to writing JAGS or BUGS models? I am asking because I am new to these languages, and would like code I write to be efficient and readable by those who do not use Stan. I’m sure the answer is case-specific, the more so as models become complex.

Not a universal one. In most cases, it is better to write the non-centered version of a multilevel model but in some cases, it is better to use the centered parameterization. But you can’t tell which just from looking at characteristics of the data, so you sometimes have to try both. Start with non-centered though.

Is that really want you want? My strong suspicion is that people who are used to writing JAGS or BUGS models and are not themselves interested in writing Stan programs are not going to want to read your basic multilevel Stan programs. In that case, you should probably be using stan_glmer in the rstanarm R package or brm in the brms R package. Either of those are usually going to be faster than the Stan programs of what most people can write by hand and the likelihoods are understandable by anyone who is familiar with lme4 syntax, which is a larger group of people (and almost a superset) than people who understand BUGS or Stan syntax.