Zero-Truncated Poisson Lognormal Distribution

Hello Stan users. I am new to Stan (I started using Stan today) and I was wondering what is the correct way of setting up a compound truncated distribution. I am working with count data (the list consists of non-zero positive integers) and I want to fit a zero-truncated Poisson Lognormal (PLN) distribution to it. I know that the Poisson Lognormal distribution is just a Poisson distribution with a rate parameter that is log-normally distributed.

I found this code on Google (Fitting a Poisson-lognormal distribution in Stan (rstan)) for the non-truncated PLN:

data{
int<lower=0> N;
 int y[N];
}

parameters {
real mu;
real<lower=0> sigma;
vector[N] log_lambda;
}

model {
sigma ~ cauchy(0, 5);
mu ~ normal(0, 10);
log_lambda ~ normal(mu, sigma);
for (n in 1:N)
 target += poisson_log_lpmf(y[n] | log_lambda[n]);
}

How do I properly modify it to account for the truncation? I am still having a hard time understanding what the target is and why does this code work. Thank you very much!

First of all, I assume that your data would not include zeroes, correct? This is not reflected in the declaration of data y.

To model the data as coming from a zero-truncated Poisson, you essentially just have to renormalise the posterior to have area under the curve of 1 after truncation of zero. On the probability scale this is achieved by dividing by one minus the probability of observing a zero count under the non-truncated distribution. Stan works on the log probability scale, so that means you need to subtract the logarithm of 1 minus the probability of observing a zero, given the Poisson rate.