Truncated Normal Distribution Regression

In Stan you can implement a regression model using the truncated normal distribution. When modeling a continuous non-negative response variable is it appropriate to use the truncated normal distribution? Asking for a friend ;)

Most of the popular methods to model non-negative response variables talk about using Gamma regression or the Lognormal regression. However those distributions can have awkward properties that might not line up with how the data was generated. Often, in industry, it is sufficient for me to assume that the data generation process involves a non-negative normal distribution. Just wanna know if there’s something horrendously wrong with this approach.

1 Like

I’ve no specially deep experienced with truncated distributions but I recently wrote a model with a truncated frechet so I can share some insights.

IMO it’s appropriate to use a truncated normal when your data is truncated normal . I.e where you believe it is somehow inherent to the data.

If you don’t have this prior then the gamma is positive and much more flexible. It fits more prospective densities than the normal and I’d guess it to be a better default as a result. IMHO.

1 Like

I have the same problem. I tried to fit a HGLM with a Gamma distribution and it doesn’t fit for some groups, showing a longer tail than expected.
I tried to write down a truncated normal distribution but it’s telling me I can only use it for univariate responses :/.

Not the question but related: https://statmodeling.stat.columbia.edu/2020/01/10/linear-or-logistic-regression-with-binary-outcomes/

1 Like

@Juan_Ignacio_de_Oyarbide if you loop over each of the observations you should be able to get the model to run. See the code in the doc for more info https://mc-stan.org/docs/2_18/stan-users-guide/truncated-data-section.html.

2 Likes