Why does horseshoe prior for a linear model need a non-linear formula

Hello experts!
I am new to brms and I have the following research problem. I am trying to predict lack of motivation (sns_theta) with a childhood trauma questionnaire that has 10 subscales (PVA, NVEA, PPhysA, etc) that are somewhat correlated (rs = 0.1-0.3). I also have some nuisance variables such as age and gender. I’d like to know which of the subscales are most predictive of the behavior. I thought of giving them a horseshoe prior to shrink those that are less predictive. I am wondering if this looks right and I am mainly confused as to why I need to make the formula a non-linear one like so:

formula <- bf(sns_theta ~ a + b, nl=TRUE) +
  lf(a ~ PVA + NVEA + PPhysA + SexA + WSV + WIPV + PeerVA + PeerPhysA+  EN + PN, center = TRUE) + 
  lf(b ~ 0 + age + gender+education, cmc = FALSE)

priors <- c(prior(horseshoe(1), class = "b", nlpar = "a"),
            prior(normal(0, 1), class = "b", nlpar = "b"))

horsehoe_fit <- brm(formula = formula, data = surveys, family = gaussian(),
                    prior = priors, iter = 3000, warmup = 1000, chains = 4, cores = 4,
                    control = list(adapt_delta = 0.999, max_treedepth = 15))

• Operating System: MAC OS Big Sur 11.6
  • brms Version: 2.15.5

Hello, I’m not sure about this specification. What is it about the model system that is nonlinear? I don’t think there is any need to use a nonlinear model specification for the horseshoe prior, and it probably makes more sense in the linear model context. I was just using it in a meta-analysis which is definitely linear.

Are you sure that you need this path structure to model this system? Why not just just subscales and nuisance predictors all as linear contributors to ‘sns_theta’ in one formula, and then apply the horseshoe prior to only the required parameters?