Why do I find chains running in parallel and not converging

Hello,

I am relatively new to STAN, but simply loving the model fitting experience. I call stan from R using rstan, and I am interested in fitting an lmer (multilevel model) equivalent hierarchical bayesian model. Since I have multiple outcomes, I plan to fit a hierarchical model with a single latent variable as an outcome, that has four manifest variables corresponding to the four outcomes. I have followed [Merkle and Wang 2016](http://Bayesian latent variable models for the analysis of experimental psychology data) to represent my model as follows:

For each outcome y_1, y_2, y_3, y_4:
y_j ~ normal(mu, sigmaY_j)
where
mu is modeled as
mu = lambda_j * theta
theta is a latent trait which is modeled using hierarchical bayesian model as follows:
theta = intercept + betas’ * covariates + latent_error

I have included a random intercept representation based on Sorensen et al. 2016 's tutorial.

My Stan code is as follows:

// Hierarchical model with:
// Multilevel model structure with level-1 and level-2 Covariates
// Four outcomes that are used to model a single latent variable
// First lambda (factor loading) is fixed to 1, and other loadings are restricted to positive values
// based on domain knowledge and to ensure identification and avoid rotation invariance

data {
int N; //number of data points
int J; //Number of outcomes
matrix[N,J] y; //Outcomes
int ID; //Total number of groups in level-2 structure
int<lower=1,upper=ID> plevel[N]; // Group number
int CovN; // Number of covariates created using model.matrix
matrix[N,CovN] CovX; // Covariates matrix
}

parameters {
vector<lower=0>[J] sigma_error; // SD of outcomes’ distribution
vector[ID] fixed_eff; // Fixed effects vector for latent equation
real<lower=0> sigma_fixed_eff;

vector[J] lambda; // Final factor loading for each outcome
real latent_intercept;
vector[CovN] beta_CovX;

}

model
{
real MuY;
real latent;

// Prior distribution