Vectorising user-defined multivariate lpdf/lpmf functions

Hi! I’m a fairly new Stan user and this is my first time posting to the forum so I hope I’m formulating everything correctly and apologies if not (also thank you to everyone who asks and answers questions on this group, it’s an amazing resource!).

I’m using @bgoodri’s excellent parameterisation of the multivariate probit model (original available here).

To make the program integrate more easily with library(loo) and the new reduce_sum parallelisation I tried to redefine the bulk of the model inside a single _lpmf function but I can’t work out how to vectorise the function to improve the computational performance.

The function as it stands is:

functions {
   real multiprobit_lpmf(
   int[] y,  // response data - integer array of 1s and 0s
   vector x, // covariate data
   matrix beta, // coefficients for covariates
   real[] u, // nuisance that absorbs inequality constraints
   int D,  // response dimension size
   matrix L_Omega // lower cholesky of correlation matrix
   ){
      vector[D] mu; // means
      vector[D] z; // latent continuous state
      vector[D] logLik; // log likelihood
      real prev;
      mu = beta * x;
      prev = 0;
     for (d in 1:D) { // Phi and inv_Phi may overflow and / or be numerically inaccurate
        real bound; // threshold at which utility = 0
        bound = Phi( -(mu[d] + prev) / L_Omega[d,d]  );
        if (y[d] == 1) {
          real t;
          t = bound + (1 - bound) * u[d];
          z[d] = inv_Phi(t);       // implies utility is positive
          logLik[d] = log1m(bound);  // Jacobian adjustment
        }
        else {
          real t;
          t = bound * u[d];
          z[d] = inv_Phi(t);     // implies utility is negative
          logLik[d]= log(bound);  // Jacobian adjustment
        }
        if (d < D) prev = L_Omega[d+1,1:d] * head(z, d);
        // Jacobian adjustments imply z is truncated standard normal