Understanding behavior of independent non-data interacting parameter

For a current research project, I am trying to approximate a model with the Ornstein-Uhlenbeck process.
To do this I use Bayesian inference with the help of Stan.
However, I am relatively new to Stan and Bayesian inference and I am currently struggling with a certain behavior of a prior.
I won’t include the full Stan-Model for the Ornstein-Uhlenbeck process and instead concentrate on a minimal model that still shows the behavior that is puzzling to me.

I have data for x, which describes the movement of a sample. One characteristic parameter for this process is the characteristic time \tau, which is implicitly connected to the log-likelihood for x through the mean in the likelihood function.

However, the question I now have is more fundamental and I wonder what the following Stan code actually does.
I am feeding it a simplified dataset x which is just a list with values 1 to 100

data {
  int<lower=0> t;
  vector[t] x;
}

parameters {
  real<lower=0> tau; // dummy parameter
}

model {
  print("tau = ", tau);
  tau ~ normal(100, 1); 
  x ~ normal(6, 3);
}

In this example, I have the parameter \tau which is completely independent of the data x.
Now, I feel like I am misunderstanding the line tau ~ normal(100, 1) .

How I understand it is that after the model is run \tau should be a normal-distributed parameter with a mean of 100 and a sigma of 1.
What I get instead is that \tau has a mean of 55.69 and a sigma of 29.09.

Also when running 50 iterations with the data x the print statement in the STAN model gives me values like

Chain 1: tau = 4.11202
Chain 1: tau = 4.16449
Chain 1: tau = 4.16449
Chain 1: tau = 4.25171
Chain 1: tau = 4.25171
Chain 1: tau = 4.38693

I spent the day understanding how those mean and sigma values are found and what that print statement actually means but after digging through the documentation I just seem to lack the knowledge of what I have to look for.