Struggling with user-defined custom c++ function for binning real data into sequence of integer counts

In brief, I’m trying to write a custom c++ function that takes a vector of reals and returns an array of counts given some parameters for data binning (start, end, bin-width). I’m new to c++ and to Stan and will be using rstan to implement various models that will make use of this counting function. In part, I’m also just using this task as a way to learn rstan/Stan/c++ and build experience designing highly customized Stan models. I’m now encountering a parsing error that I can’t figure out and I would appreciate some help (and any suggestions for improvements on any of the code below).

To begin, the error. In an R session I’m calling a script (see below) that builds a Stan model in order to simply test a custom c++ function (also below). The R code is stored in “count2stan.R”, and the c++ function definition is in “stancount.cpp”. When called, the R script produces the following error:

source(“./count2stan.R”)
SYNTAX ERROR, MESSAGE(S) FROM PARSER:
error in ‘model10333a7f6ac4fb_counting’ at line 3, column 4

1: 
 2: functions {
 3:     array[] int count( vector somereals,
       ^
 4:                     real minimum,

PARSER EXPECTED: “}”
Error in stanc(file = file, model_code = model_code, model_name = model_name, :
failed to parse Stan model ‘counting’ due to the above error.

Now the relevant code (though, see attached for files so you don’t have to copy-n-paste).
count2stan.R (1.1 KB)
stancount.cpp (722 Bytes)

R script:

library(rstan)

model_code <-
'
functions {
    array[] int count( vector somereals,
                    real minimum,
                    real maximum,
                    real delta );
}
data {
    int N;
    int Nbins;
    vector[N] somereals;
    real minimum;
    real maximum;
    real delta;
}
model {}
generated quantities {
    int y[Nbins] = count(somereals, minimum, maximum, delta);
}
'