Simulating fake data for multi-species occupancy model (Dorazio et al's butterflies)

Hi everyone,

I’m in the process of learning to use STAN to build a multi-species, multi-site occupancy model but have a few questions with simulating fake data for my model.

My real data is similar in form to the example data collected and analyzed by Dorazio et al 2006 and reapproached with a STAN model written by Bob Carpenter here: Multiple Species-Site Occupancy Model. Eventually, I’d like to implement a model that also estimates a site-level covariate (i.e. the effect of habitat restoration on occupancy) and species-level covariate (i.e. the effect of species resource specialization on occupancy). However, since I’m still learning, I thought a good place to start would be to simulate fake data similar to the butterfly data (sites exchangeable and no species covariate) and aim to recover the parameters used to generate the fake data with the model written by BC. After that I’d hope to build on this to add site and species level covariates into the fake data simulation process and the model structure, and tailor the model to any other needs of my system, but I want to make sure I understand the basics first.

The main issue is that although the parameter values used to generate my fake data are more or less captured by the model estimates, there seems to be some bias in the output. Particularly, my input site-level detection effect (beta) is -1.75 (logit-scaled), but this true value is consistently at the low-edge of my model estimated 95% interval. Similarly my true rho value (correlation between occupancy and detection effects of species) is consistently at the high-edge of my model estimated 95% interval, and the estimated omega results in a consistent low estimate for my community size (E_N or E_N_2) of the model ouptut - where I know from my simulated data the true number of species in my simulated community.