Shouldn't I condition for all variables that cause Y in a DAG?

Hello everyone,

I hope this is a right place to ask this: I am fairly new at trying to understand my models through the eyes of Causal Directed Acyclic Graphs (DAGs). But I have been trying to wrap my head around it before choosing what variables I want to condition for when running my models and to inform me about potentially relevant variables before collecting my data.

My confusion is perhaps too naive, but here it goes. I have read that when choosing what variables to condition for, those that are ancestors of both X (target effect) and Y (response variable) should be conditioned for, in order to get an unbiased estimate. Thus, if X → Y, and X ← Z → Y one should condition for Z to get an unbiased estimate of the effect of X on Y. My question regards the case in which Y is the descendant of more than one parent. In a simple scenario in which the only arrows present are those of W, X, and Z directed to Y, but where I am specifically interested in the effect of X on Y, shouldn’t I also condition for W and Z? Wouldn’t I get a biased estimate if I do not include W and Z in my model given that they -like X- are affecting Y? That is, shouldn’t one add all the variables that cause Y? And if not, why?

I would appreciate any insight anyone could provide me.

Yours,

D.

1 Like

I think it would be good if you draw some diagrams :)

1 Like

I’m always keen to learn more about causal reasoning so here goes;

If your system is X→Y and X ← Z → Y, then Z is a confounder of X→Y, so in any model for X→Y, Z → Y must also be estimated because otherwise X→Y will be biased; even if the direct causal effect X→Y were 0, the pathway W→ X→ Y remains.