Run time issue with brms: Fitting a mixed-effects location-scale model

Hello,

I am new to using the brms package and am having difficulty running a mixed-effects location-scale model as outlined by Lester, Cullen-Lester, and Walters (2019). The code for my (final) model is as follows:

modelfinal <- bf(avoidc ~ 1 + dfs + rlength + (1 + dfs|ID1|user_id),
sigma ~ 1 + dfs + rlength + (1 + dfs|ID1|user_id))

modelfinal_out <- brm(modelfinal, data = explore1, 
chains = 4, cores = 4, iter = 5000,
control = list(adapt_delta = .85, max_treedepth = 15),
seed = 8712, save_all_pars = T)

I am following the build-up procedure outlined by Lester et al. (2019) starting with an empty model. The empty model (below) ran pretty quickly.

empty_mod <- bf(avoidc ~ 1 ,
sigma ~ 1 )

The random intercept model runs after about 30 minutes.

random_int <- bf(avoidc ~ 1 + (1 | user_id),
sigma ~ 1 )
random_int_out <- brm(random_int, data = explore1, chains = 4,
cores = 4, iter = 5000, control = list(adapt_delta = .85,
max_treedepth = 15),
seed = 186, save_all_pars = T)

As soon as I get to a more complex step (below), I cannot successfully get it to run (I allowed it to run for about 3 days).

random_ints_loc_scale <- bf(avoidc ~ 1 + (1 |ID1|user_id),
                              sigma ~ 1 + (1 |ID1|user_id))

random_ints_loc_scale_out <- brm(random_ints_loc_scale, data = explore1, 
                                   chains = 4, cores = 4, iter = 5000,
                                   control = list(adapt_delta = .85, 
                                                  max_treedepth = 15), seed = 4789, save_all_pars = T)

Finally, I tried my final model (the MELS) with only 100 iterations just to see if it would work and the below code did successfully run after about 10 hours.

modelfinal <- bf(avoidc ~ 1 + dfs + rlength + (1 + dfs|ID1|user_id),
sigma ~ 1 + dfs + rlength + (1 + dfs|ID1|user_id))

modelfinal_out <- brm(modelfinal, data = explore1,
chains = 4, cores = 4, iter = 100,