Rstan on remote servers

Dear all,

I am relatively new to the use of Stan in bayesian modelling, and I am currently working on a fitting a hierarchical model to ecological data in R via rstan. After a few tests the best version of model takes a very long time (~ 1 week) to run fully for about 1000 iterations, as there is a large number of parameters being estimated. This means that for a proper run (which would require potentially 10 times as many iterations) this will take a huge amount of time on my 4 cores computer.

I have been thinking that a way to circumvent this would be to run more chains for fewer iterations in order to obtain a reasonable sample size, and this has led me to the idea of renting a remote online server with many cores on which to run several chains in parallel. I have never done this before, and I have read that it can be rather complicated to set up these machines (e.g. the ones offered by Google or Amazon) properly for someone with limited experience in programming. I was wondering if you have some previous experience with running stan models with R on remote servers and if you have some advice on which would be a sensible option for someone with limited programming experience. Thanks a lot!

3 Likes

Hi Gio, welcome to the Stan forums.

I’ve seen several questions about this recently but as far as I know we don’t yet have any documentation/guide/tutorial on this. Personally I don’t have too much experience running on remote servers but it’s definitely possible and I know that many people do it. Anyone on @Stan_Development_Team or any Stan user reading this want to take a shot at writing a short guide on setting this up either using RStan or CmdStanR (it would be great to have for python too)? Or does anyone know of some tutorial on this that already exists?