Reduce_sum with hierarchical vector auto-regression

I’m trying to use reduce_sum with a multilevel VAR, and I’m having trouble trying to figure out how to wrangle my data structure to work with reduce_sum (or if it’s even possible).

My units are regions, nested within countries. The model partially pools at the country level (country-level random intercepts and slopes). The data are structured as a 11x5x120 dimension array, where each 11x5 matrix is a region.

I’m running into trouble on how to define the slice, given that it needs to slice an array and each region’s time series must be kept separate (for the lags to make sense). (This is my first time using reduce_sum, so I may also be misunderstanding something about how this works).

This is the code I have so far:

functions{
  real partial_sum(real[] slice_y,
                   int start, int end,
                   matrix beta,
                   matrix alpha,
                   matrix Omega,
                   vector tau,
                   int t,
                   int country,
                   int R,
                   int K
                   )

for(r in 1:R){
     matrix[t, K] y_temp = to_matrix(slice_y[:, :, r]);
    for(tt in 1:t){
      vector[K] lagvars; //lagged variables
     //linear predictor
      if(tt > 1){
      	lagvars = to_vector(y_temp[tt-1,:]);
      	real mu[K]; //linear predictor
        mu = alpha[country[r]] + beta[country[r]]*lagvars;
        return multi_normal_lpdf(y[t]|mu,quad_form_diag(Omega[country[r]], tau[country[r]]))
      }
    }
  }

}

data{

int N; //# observations
  int K; //# dimensions of Y
  int C; //# of countries
  int R; //# of regions
  int t; //# of time periods in the panel

int<lower = 1, upper=C> country[R]; //country id for each region
  int<lower = 1, upper=t> time[N]; //time period id for each obs
  int<lower = 1, upper=R> region[N]; //region id for each obs

real Y[t, K, R]; //the outcome array - each variable's time series stacked by region

}