Projpred: Fixing Group Effects in Search Terms and Tips for Speed?

Firstly, thanks so much for all of the work on BRMS, STAN, and projpred, these are all fantastic tools!!! And apologies in advance if my question is daft, I am still learning about these tools and I have likely overlooked something really trivial!

Main Issues

I am running a hierarchical model, and trying to perform variable selection, I hope to use projpred. cv_varsel is taking a very long time to run, and I am always running out of memory before jobs have finished (I am using my university’s HPC, and have a memory limit of 100GB). My main questions are:

1. Am I asking too much of projpred? My dataset contains 30,000 observations, and I am looking at 10 potential explanatory variables.
  2. Is there anything I can do, for example specifying search_terms to help things run more efficiently.
  3. How do I ensure that certain variables are always retained throughout the search (see below for more details).

Details

I have a dataset of 30,000 households. Each household is nested within a village. Each village nested within a country, i.e:

y ~ 1 + (1|village) + (1|country)

Keeping this hierarchical structure is key. I now want to now include some explanatory variables, say education level, amount of land owned etc. I have about 10 variables that I am considering, I was hoping to use projpred for variable selection. I have fitted a reference model in brms:

model <- brm(
   formula= bf(y ~ (1|village) + (1|country) + x1 + x2  + x3... x10),
)

I then take this model, load it, and run projpred. At the moment, these are the only arguments I am using:

seed <- 123
ref_model <- projpred::get_refmodel(model)

cv_varsel_res <- cv_varsel(ref_model,
                          method = 'forward', 
                          cv_method = 'kfold', 
                          K = 5,
                          verbose = TRUE, 
                          seed = seed)

save(cv_varsel_res,file="..."))