Posterior predictive checks for IRT models

Hi,

I’m a relative newbie so I hope this post isn’t redundant. Beguin and Glas (2001) present some useful posterior predictive plots and test statistics for Bayesian IRT model fit. The plots are not difficult to implement in R, but they also seem like the sort of code that could be automated and shared, if that hasn’t already happened since 2001. Stan, or at least the Stan community in some capacity, seems like a good place to make that code available. Thoughts? Maybe the answer is as simple as making an external link available in a response to this forum post, so that more people would be able to find the code.

My post is also related to this one.

Cheers,

Richard

Off the top of my head, the IRT model person I can think of is @saudiwin. I think he does an IRT package: https://github.com/saudiwin/idealstan . Maybe he has opinions or suggestions or pointers to packages if you wanted to contribute something.

1 Like

Thanks for the shoutout @bbales2 :D! My package does indeed have posterior predictive checks for the IRT models in the package. I’m also coming out with a big update in the next two months that will add a variety of time-series IRT models & also ability to use hierarchical parameters.

@rjc10, I’m interested to hear more about what kind of posterior predictive checks or model fit criteria you would think are useful. I’ve seen a ton of model fit criteria out there but never really understood what to use them for.

@saudiwin Thanks, nice to meet you! I’ve read through some of the literature on ideal point models and while it’s not my area, I found it useful for understanding some of the approaches for model identification when a researcher can bring specific domain knowledge to the table. Thank you, we’re so fortunate to have open-source software for these models out there.