Phylogenetic time of event model

Dear stan/brms users,

I am a new modeler (having only been learning about brms for about a week), so please forgive my ignorance of many aspects of the question I’d like to ask. I work in the field of phylogenetic systematics, and I am trying to come up with a way to model the probability of a set of events through time, and assess the likely time interval in which the events occurred. The data are phylogenetically structured and a mix of contemporaneous and non-contemporaneous (i.e. not all of the tips of the tree line up at t=0).

The outcome response data is coded as binary 0/1 (the occurrence of an event, or the absence of evidence of an event), and are associated with each terminal in the phylogenetic tree, which has branch lengths in units of time. It appears that these “independent” (though phylogenetically structured) events are clustered in time, and I would like to assess that hypothesis quantitatively. I will refer to the event of interest as the “outcome event” because this is how I have been treating it, but this may be wrong (see below).

I reviewed the phylogenetic brms vignette Estimating Phylogenetic Multilevel Models with brms and this gives me some hope that brms/stan may provide a suitable way to explore these topics. I have been experimenting and going through some vignettes to become generally familiar with how brms works (though I am still very much a beginner!!). I have been able to get something akin to phylogenetic logistic regression (but bayesian, which is extremely interesting and potentially important its own right) to work, which I think looks something like this:

brm(uncex.merged ~ log.stem.ages_since + (1|gr(phylo, cov = A)), data2 = list(A = A), data = logisticreg.newdat.LHTs.bm, family = bernoulli(), cores=3, control = list(adapt_delta = 0.99))