Partially-fixed Gaussian-process prior for varying slopes model: HMC not progressing

Hi all,

I am a complete beginner to Stan, so apologies in advance if I have made an obvious mistake or asking a silly question.

Set up
I am attempting to fit a “rolling” regression model in which the slope parameter varies through time:

y_t \sim \text{normal}(\mu_t, \sigma)
\mu_t = \alpha + \beta_t\cdot X_t

In particular, I want to apply a Gaussian process prior to \beta so that it varies relatively smoothly through time:

\beta \sim \text{multi-normal}\left(0, k(t_i, t_j) \right)

Where k is an exponentiated quadratic kernel.

Problem
When I use a fixed (true) GP as the prior, and infer \beta_t, \alpha, and \sigma, I can get back a posterior that closely captures the true values. However, when I try to also infer one of the GP parameters, even with an informative prior, sampling never seems to progress past the first iteration / warmup. Specifically I get stuck at: “Iteration: 1 / 1000 [ 0%] (Warmup)”.

Ultimately of course I would like to infer all parameters and build up a more complicated model. I understand that modelling \beta as a random walk is another option. I have done this already and would like to trouble-shoot the GP prior for now.

# Simulation parameters
gp_alpha <- 0.25
gp_rho <- 20
alpha <- 0
sigma <- 0.05

# Set up GP
eps <- sqrt(.Machine$double.eps)
t <- 1:500 
D <- as.matrix(dist(t))^2
K <- gp_alpha^2 * exp(-1/(2 * gp_rho^2) * D) + diag(eps, length(t))

# Simulate data
set.seed(9)
beta <- mvtnorm::rmvnorm(1, mean=rep(0, length(t)), sigma=K)[1, ] # unobserved
x <- runif(length(t)) # observed
y <- alpha + (beta * x) + rnorm(length(t), sd=sigma) # observed

# plot(t, beta, type = 'l', lwd=2, xlab="time", ylab="Beta")
  data {
    int<lower=1> N;
    vector[N] y;
    real x[N];
    real t[N];
    real<lower=0> gp_rho;
  }
  parameters {
    real alpha;
    real<lower=0> sigma;
    real<lower=0> gp_alpha;
    vector[N] Z;
  }
  model {