Newly Specified Bayesian Hierarchical Model with High Runtime

Hey all,

This should be my last thread on this particular Stan code, but I’m very new to Stan and BHM and could use some advice. The code is finally debugged to the point where it is returning parameter values on a test run with the data from two participants. There is a hitch, however, and I want to make sure it’s not the result of terribly inefficient (or incorrect) coding. I’m going to put the Stan version, interface, and code below, and then get into the issue.

Stan version: 2.31.0
Interface: MatlabStan 2.15.1.0

functions {

//custom function for lognormal inverse CDF
	row_vector logncdfinv(row_vector x, real m, real s) {							

int sz;												    //declaring size variable
		sz = size(x);											//calculating size variable
		row_vector[sz] y;										//declaring return variable
		y = exp( s .* sqrt(2) .* inv_erfc( -2 .* x + 2 ) + m );						//calculating result

return y;											    //returning result

}

//likelihood model for CASANDRE				
	real casandre_log(matrix z, real j, real k, real l, real m, real n, vector o, int p) {			

vector[p] sm;											//declaring the rescaled sensitivity vector
		real sc;											    //declaring the rescaled confidence criterion variable
		sm = k.*o;											    //calculating the rescaled stimulus sensitivity vector (stimulus sensitivity * orientation vector)
		sc = k*n;											    //calculating the rescaled confidence criterion variable (stimulus sensitivity * confidence criterion)
		row_vector[30] xtrans;								    //declaring the row vector for the transformed x-axis
		xtrans = logncdfinv( linspaced_row_vector(30,.5/30,1-.5/30),
		log( 1 / sqrt( m^2 + 1 ) ), 
		sqrt( log( m^2 + 1 ) ) );							    //calculating the lognormal inverse cdf for 30 equally spaced x-axis intervals

matrix[p,4] llhC;										//declaring the matrix of choice likelihoods

for (tr in 1:p){										//for loop through every trial for this subject