Multiple Outcome Variables

Hi, I am new to both Stan and Bayesian Estimation Methods. I have an individual-level panel data and for each individual, I have three outcome variables, say, y1,y2,y3. y1 and y2 are binary variables, where one depends on the other, and y3 is a categorical variables. I want to jointly model these three dependent variables. I know how to write down the likelihood of the observations in the frequentist way, however, I am not sure how to do it using the Bayesian Methods.
My question is can I estimate the model with the loglikelihood function as the objective function with the ‘target+’? If not, how should I do it?

If you want to fit a simple multivariate linear regression model, then all that Bayesianism entails is specifiying a prior distribution on your parameters (presumably beta and Sigma). In Stan, you can choose virtually any distribution to this end, and you would probably want to set it to be quite diffuse (eg a large variance for the beta prior).

The likelihood function is the objective function in both the frequentist and the Bayesian paradigm, although in a Bayesian approach, you would simply add the log of the prior distribution(s) to the log likelihood. If you specify as priors

beta ~ normal(mean,var);
Sigma ~ wishart(nu, V);

Stan interprets this as "please add normal_lupdf(beta|mean,var) and wishart_lupdf(Sigma|nu,V) to my target, ie log likelihood objective function.
Hence, you can also write the main regression equation either as

y ~ normal(X*beta,Sigma);

or equivalently as

target += normal_lupdf(y|X*beta,Sigma);

The target += ... functionality is important primarily for reparametrizations, when you need to manually add the Jacobian to the likelihood. Unless you’re dealing with more complex structures, you can probably stick to the more elegant variable ~ distribution() notation.

1 Like

The question is about binary outcomes that are not assumed to be independent.