Multivariate outcome logit

Hello all,

I am not an expert in statistics but I have used some models in STAN before. Currenlty, I am trying to run a multivariate outcome logistic regression model (multivariate outcome logit model).

The below link contains information on how I can perfom this for probit model and linear regression. I was wondering if eny code is available for the logit version?

Thanks

1 Like

Personally, I cannot really answer from reading the documentation alone since I’m not familiar with the “trick introduced by Albert and Chib (1993)”. I’m sure there will be others here who are, but as an alternative you could unpack how that is equivalent to a multivariate probit, and it may become easier to formulate a logit equivalent.

1 Like

You mean a logit regression with categorical outcomes? This code should work.

data {
  int<lower=1> N; // n of observations (number of individuals times number of choice scenarios per individual) 
  int<lower=1> I; // n of individuals 
  int<lower=2> J; // n of alternatives 
  int<lower=0> K; // n of covariates/variables
  array[N] int<lower=1, upper=J> choices; // choice or outcome index for each observation 
  array[N] matrix[J, K] X; // covariates for each choice situation   
}
parameters {
  vector[J - 1] alpha_raw; // J-1 free intercepts, one intercept is always = 0 
  vector[K] beta; // choice covariates   
}
transformed parameters {
  vector[J] alpha = append_row(0, alpha_raw); // alpha[1] = 0, alpha[2]...alpha[J] are free
}
model {  
  alpha_raw ~ normal(0, 2); 
  beta ~ normal(0, 2); 

for (i in 1:N) {    
    choices[i] ~ categorical_logit(alpha + X[i] * beta);
  }
}

I also recommend checking Jim Savage’s blog.

1 Like

I mean the multivariate probit model. The documentation description is quite detailed, but for the purpose of getting useful responses here it may help to summarized the extensive description into the core of what makes it a multivariate probit.