Modelling a biomarker incorporating donor and time delay effect

Hi Stan community,

I’m a grad student and got a dataset which I would like to model in brms. I’ve read Statistical Rethinking and been following Frank Harell his lessons, but I’m having difficulties to implement this to my own topics. I’m new to all of this and haven’t had formal statistical training, so please bear with me if I ask (too) obvious questions.

The dataset measured hemolysis in 8 different blood tubes (lets label them A-H), and we want to evaluate which tube has the lowest and highest hemolysis. For tube A-D, we drew blood from 3 volunteers, and for tube F-H, we drew blood in 3 other volunteers. Furthermore, for every tube we have a measurement at timepoint 0 (T0) and later timepoints (T04 for tube A-D, T16 for tube A-D, T24 for tube F-H and T72 for tube F-H).

DAG

The resulting dataset & code looks like this:

require(brms)
require(bayesplot)

tubes <- c("A","A","A","B","B","B")
donors <- c("Donor1","Donor1","Donor1", "Donor1", "Donor1", "Donor1")
hemolysis <- c(0.10,0.34,0.12,0.23,0.45, 0.56)
timepoint <- c("T0", "T04", "T16", "T0", "T04", "T16")

hemolysis_df <- as.data.frame(cbind(tubes, donors, hemolysis,timepoint))

# I tried to specify here a sceptical prior that all tubes suffer from hemolysis based on prior knowledge in literature (value of > 0.5 indicates hemolysis)
prior <- c(prior_string("normal(0.5,0.1)", class = "b")) 

# Sampling from prior, I set the family to lognormal so the results are non-negative 
fit <- brm(formula = hemolysis ~ tube + tube:timepoint  + (1 | donor), data = hemolysis_df, family = lognormal(), chains = 4, cores = 4, iter = 2000, prior = prior, sample_prior = "only")

# Checking output
summary(fit)
plot(fit)

# Sampling
fit_model2 <- update(fit, sample_prior = "no", chains = 4, cores = 4, iter = 2000, control = list(adapt_delta = 0.90, max_treedepth = 13))

# Checking results
summary(fit_model2)
plot(fit_model2)
prior_summary(fit_model2)