Mc-stan documentation license precludes easy reuse

I was hoping to make the Stan documentation available on https://devdocs.io/. This website is an open-source tool for developers to search popular code documentation through a single interface. It makes documentation available by scraping open-source documentations available as HTML or other markup formats and transforming them into a uniform searchable database.

Unfortunately, the license for the Stan documentation is CC-BY-ND 4.0 docs/LICENSE at master · stan-dev/docs · GitHub . The “ND” part of that license (no derivatives) to me pretty strongly suggests that the mc-stan documentation is not compatible with ingestion into devdocs.io, but I’m no lawyer. Another oddity: The PDF version of the documentation is already available as CC-BY 4.0. So I suppose I could scrape the text in the PDF, but not the underlying Rmarkdown or HTML files?

What was the purpose of using the no-derivatives license for the Stan documentation? Could the license be changed to CC-BY 4.0 instead? Why does the PDF have a different license than the Rmarkdown that was used to create the HTML and PDF files? Can I scrape text from the HTML files as long as the text also exists in the PDF? Could I run the process of transforming the Markdown into a PDF myself and use the intermediate HTML/Latex or other files instead of the final PDF for ingestion into devdocs.io?

2 Likes

The @SGB needs to weigh in here.

2 Likes

@Bob_Carpenter - do you remember why the “ND”?

@winni2k - devdocs looks great, but the Stan docs are versioned -

how would this work on devdocs?

It supports versioning, tho I don’t know how it’s deployed.

Not a lawyer as well, but what part of the ND license is the issue? Just reading from the link below it seems like changing the format does not create a derivative work?

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/