Issues fitting a multidimensional IRT model with K-fold cross-validation

Dear Stan users:

Hi, I’m picking up a project that I had to shelve for a few months. I’m fitting multidimensional Item Response Theory models, and am having trouble with large Pareto k values during leave-one-out cross-validation. This problem occurs even when I am using exactly the right model because I generated the data myself using an IRT model with the same number of dimensions as the model I am fitting to the data. The reason, I believe, is that by random chance some respondents will answer a difficult test item correctly despite having low ability, and IRT models have so many parameters that a few data points are almost guaranteed to show up as outliers, with high Pareto k values. Additionally, I am using priors to identify the models (setting the origin and the units and orientation of the axes in the coordinate system describing the model, as per Reckase (2009)), and it is possible (as I am new to multidimensional IRT models) that while my choice of priors works for model identification, the priors may still be weak enough that the outliers have enough room to work their mischief, leading to the high Pareto k values. I probably have more research to do concerning how other researchers have chosen specific priors for specific models, and my gut tells me that at least half of this sort of knowledge just comes with experience.