= in model

Hi!
I am pretty much a beginner here still. There are some pieces of code where I wonder what is the “best” solution. Many of them involve convenience variables where I really just want to shuffle a value from one place to another. See below. The = assignment does not work. I can hack in a uniform(a,a) but I suspect this is not good at all. So, what is the idiomatic way of handling this?

for(p in 1:num_pools){
      for(m in 1:num_mutants){
          if( poolconc_prior[p,m] == 0){  
              poolconc[m] = 0;
          } else {
              poolconc[m] ~ exponential(1000);
          }
      }
  }

Here is a more complex later piece of logic where the model is just deterministic

for(L in 1:num_libraries){
      if( library_previous_day[L] == -1){  
        //First day: This is the initial transfection of mice
        mouseconc[m,L] = poolconc[m]; 
      } else {
        //This is a later day; simulate growth
        mouseconc[m,L] = pow(2.0, mouseconc[m, library_previous_day[L]] * growthrate[growthrate_index[L]]);
      }
    }
  }

All input appreciated!

minor correction, 2nd case: the function is deterministic, but the input is not. so ~ in some sense makes sense … except STAN seems to force me to provide a distribution?

With Stan, it’s not possible to have fixed values for parameters. If you have declared poolconc as a parameter, then all elements need to have a prior specified.

If you want to have a vector/matrix which is partially composed of parameters with priors, you need to declare a separate vector of those elements as parameters and then assign them using the transformed parameters block.

Something like:

parameters {
  vector[N_pars] poolconc_pars;
}

transformed parameters {
  vector[m] poolconc;
 {
  int par_ind = 1; // temp variable to track index of poolconc_pars vector
  for(p in 1:num_pools){
            if( poolconc_prior[p,m] == 0){  
                poolconc[m] = 0;
            } else {