Imputing missing responses in multivariate ordinal data

Hi Paul and others,

I was wandering if there is a way to do multiple imputation in a fully Bayesian way using brms in the case of discrete (ordinal) variables? Maybe using some latent variable approach and some other “tricks” would do the thing. I’m completely new to brms and would be thankful if someone could show an example or give some useful hints. Imputing missing values in response variable Y (ordinal) is of the main interest in my case. There are some missing discrete X’s as well, but these are not the main issue.

Thanks for any input!

2 Likes

I think that there is a rough agreement in the original thread that when you care about missing responses, you can’t do much better than just infer the missing values from the model. If there is a reason, you believe this is not appropriate for your case, could you explain why do you think so?

Quoting the relevant excerpts:

Best of luck with your model!

3 Likes

Thank you, Martin, for replying. In my case I’m dealing with multivariate Y. All y’s are discrete (ordinal or categorical). Some y’s have significant proportion of missing values. Y’s are correlated. I need to utilize all non-missing data (as well correlations between y’s) so simple excluding rows when some y’s are missing is not an option in my case.
For the same reason (Y is multivariate) inferring missing values from “the model” is also not an option. I need a way to deal with missing values before (or in the process of) building “the model”.

I fully agree that there is no point to do MI if Y would be not multivariate or y’s would be not correlated. Sorry for not being specific in my first post.

I also have some discrete (categorical and ordinal) predictors - x’s with missing values. Having a way to do MI of discrete variables with brms would be usefull in any case.