Help with correlated binomial random walk state space model

Model

I’m new to building models directly in Stan, and I’d be grateful for help implementing a state space model that has similarities to a simple two-party election forecasting model:

1. there are multiple groups observed over time with binary counts, but not every group is observed at each timestep (i.e., there are missing data)
  2. the goal is to infer the latent state, Pr(success), for each group at all timesteps of the observation period and also forecast this latent state a modest number of timesteps into the future
  3. changes in the latent state from one timestep to the next occur via a correlated random walk process, set by a covariance matrix that is inferred from the data

At the core of the model are draws from a multivariate normal distribution, which requires a covariance matrix (\Sigma) that governs the state changes of each group. As I understand it, I can construct \Sigma by first creating a diagonal matrix (\mathbf{S}) from the vector of group standard deviations (\sigma_{n}) that determine the distribution of step sizes for each group. Then, pre- and post-multiplying this to the group correlation matrix (\mathbf{R}). Both distributions of \sigma_{n} and \mathbf{R} can be specified using priors. In other words,

\begin{aligned} \Sigma &= \mathbf{S} \mathbf{R} \mathbf{S} \\ \mathbf{S} &= \left(\begin{matrix} \sigma_{1} & 0 & \dots & 0 \\ 0 & \sigma_{2} & \ddots & \vdots \\ \vdots & \ddots & \ddots & 0 \\ 0 & \dots & 0 & \sigma_{n} \end{matrix}\right) \\ \sigma &\sim \mathrm{Gamma}(1, 1) \\ \mathbf{R} &\sim \text{LKJcorr}(1) \\ \end{aligned}

Problem

The model in which I’ve attempted to implement this covariance structure (code+data below) fails to sample due to the same error & exception on all chains. As an example:

Chain 1 Rejecting initial value:
Chain 1   Error evaluating the log probability at the initial value.