Help selecting Gamma priors (for multivariate mixture model)

Please also provide the following information in addition to your question:

• Operating System: Windows 8
  • brms Version: 2.4.0

I’m attempting to set up a multivariate gamma mixture model to model interval data from my research (building from someone’s dissertation - the gamma mixture is the most appropriate for our data).

However, I’m quite new to modeling in general and unfamiliar with Gamma distributions. I’m having trouble figuring out appropriate priors to set for my model.

My priors/model so far (I have a lot more parameters to add in, but can’t get this run yet):

prior1 <- c(set_prior(“gamma(0.1, 1)”, class=“shape1”),
set_prior(“gamma(5, 10)”, class = “shape2”))

fit1 <- brm(brmsformula(
intervals ~ 1 + mating_success,
theta2 ~ 1 + mating_success),
data = intervals,
family = mixture(Gamma, Gamma),
control=list(adapt_delta = 0.99),
prior = prior1,
warmup = 100, iter = 1000, chains = 1)

I have a few questions:
(1) When I run this, as is, I get the following error: “Rejecting initial value:
Error evaluating the log probability at the initial value.” 20-40 times, and then this output: "Initialization between (-2, 2) failed after 100 attempts.
Try specifying initial values, reducing ranges of constrained values, or reparameterizing the model.
[1] “Error in sampler$call_sampler(args_list[[i]]) : Initialization failed.”
[2] “In addition: Warning message:”
[3] “Rows containing NAs were excluded from the model. "
[1] “error occurred during calling the sampler; sampling not done””

I have no idea what this error means or how to address it, and have not found resources yet that I understood - any advice or direction to appropriate resources would be appreciated!

(2) When looking at “get_prior” for my model, I’m fairly confused at the output:
a) what is class “b”?
b) what is being represented by the “dpar” column?