Fitting mixed effect GAM model in brms and setting of priors

Hello ,

I am new to Bayesian modelling. I am an ecologist. I am trying to model the visitation frequency of a species of bird to a species of plant. My dataset has several variables: frequency_f (response variable), elevation (numerical variable with discrete values), season (categorical variable with two levels), flowers (numerical variable also with descrete values). I want to run a mixed effect GAM model with a smoothing term for elevation using brms R package. I decided to set a smothing term for elevation after checking the relationship of these two variables via a plot. Frequency of visitation seem to peak at the middle elevations and then it drop again. This is the formulation of the model:

elevation_all_plants_mbrms ā† brms::brm(frequency_f ~ s(elevation) + season + flowers + (1|plant_ID),
data = hypericum_all, family = hurdle_gamma(link = ā€œlogā€), chains = 5,
iter = 10000, warmup = 3000, cores = 4)

I chose the hurdle_gamma family since my response variable is continuous and itā€™s zero inflated. It canā€™t take negative values. Thus, I want to see if the visitation frequency of the birds is affected by elevation, season, and the number of flowers each plant has. As random factor I chose each plant individual. After running the model with default priors, these are the results :

Family: hurdle_gamma 
  Links: mu = log; shape = identity; hu = identity 
Formula: frequency_f ~ s(elevation) + season + flowers + (1 | plant_ID) 
   Data: hypericum_all (Number of observations: 242) 
  Draws: 5 chains, each with iter = 10000; warmup = 3000; thin = 1;
         total post-warmup draws = 35000

Smooth Terms: 
                  Estimate Est.Error l-95% CI u-95% CI Rhat Bulk_ESS Tail_ESS
sds(selevation_1)     2.03      1.16     0.56     5.05 1.00     1111      420

Group-Level Effects: 
~plant_ID (Number of levels: 242) 
sd(Intercept)     0.33      0.25     0.01     0.88 1.01      569      285