Dose-Response Model(s) in Stan

Dear community,
I am facing a new challenge, so I’m here to ask you for some advice.
Is there some publication, worksheet, manual… to understand better how to build a dose-response model?
I would like to work on some data that show hormesis, when exposure to an agent can be both a stimulus (at a lower dosage) and an inhibition (at a higher dosage).
I am very new to such a broad field. Is there a way to describe hormesis with differential equations?
I know that Stan can handle such non-linearity in the response in some way. Have you advice or tricks to try?

@martinmodrak , any hints here?

Dose-response models often appear within the field of (microbial) risk assessment, so the general literature is indeed pretty broad and includes a lot beyond the models themselves, so you’ll find very general references you may or may not want to get into (like this). The modeling itself varies from bottom-up formulations of the curves to simply fitting a sigmoidal curve to the data. The basic model would be something like p = 1 - e^{-pd}, and there are some considerations about why that and not just some logistic function.

Two references which I think address very well both the biological and modeling considerations are Furumoto and Mickey (1967). It’s not just a cute reference because it’s from the 60s, but they actually derive the expression above from theoretical considerations about the probability of infection of each infectious particle, and also consider non-homogeneous probabilities of infection, resulting in the model p_{het} = 1 - \int_0^1 e^{-xpd}q(x)dx, with q(x) \sim Beta(x|\alpha, \beta) , and go on to to experimental tests by fitting the model (crudely, after all it was the 60s). In my opinion a lot can be learned from those considerations alone, probably more than a much larger review of phenomenological approaches to dose-response models.