Convergence Troubles and Pathologies in an already Reparameterized Model

Hi all,

I’ve been bashing my head against the wall for several months now trying to figure out this problem, and now hope to turn to you, Stan Community, for some insights. I will give the mathematical formulation to the model first, which you are welcome to read for a bit of background. Then I will give the Stan code, followed by some of the convergence issues and pathologies that I have been running into.

Mathematical Model Description

I would like to fit the following model in Stan:

Y \sim Multinomial(\Pi)
\pi_k = \dfrac{u(r_k) - u(r_{k-1})}{u(r_K)} , for k \in 2...K, and \pi_1 = 1-\sum_2^K \pi_k

Here, we have bird count data that is separated into K distance bands, with each band having a maximum radius of r_k. The function u(r) = 1 - \exp\left(-\dfrac{r^2}{\tau_s^2}\right) , where \tau is an effective detection radius for species s, and can be modelled as follows:
\log(\tau_s) \sim N(\mu_s, \sigma)
\mu_s = \alpha + MIG_s + HAB_s + \beta_1 \times MASS_s + \beta_2 \times PITCH_s
\alpha \sim N(4,0.1)
MIG, HAB \sim N(0, 0.05)
\beta_1 \sim N(0.01, 0.005)
\beta_2 \sim N(-0.01, 0.005)
\sigma \sim \exp(5)

In plain terms, I am modelling a species’ effective detection radius as a function of the species’ migratory status (2 factors), habitat preference (2 factors), mass (log scaled and centred), and song pitch (scaled and centred). I have data for 300+ species, with anywhere between 5 and 90,000 data points per species. The priors imply that an “average” effective detection radius would be around 54.6m (i.e., exp(4)), with that changing based on migratory status and habitat preference, increasing with increased mass, but decreasing with increasing pitch. The prior predictive checks for this model look excellent.

Stan Model Code

functions {
  real partial_sum_lpmf(array[, ] int slice_abund_per_band, // modifications to avoid Stan warnings at compile