Convergence issues with measurement error model with rethinking

Hi, I’m having trouble with convergence in one of my models and wanted to ask if there’s something really obvious I’m doing wrong. I’m relatively new to Bayesian stats and haven’t posted here before so please forgive any errors and let me know if there’s something else I should include/do differently.

I have a dataset that looks like this:

>head(df)
group       	PC1 		k_mean	k_me
1     		1.9759287       7.0     1.0
2  		    -1.9759287      3.5     1.5
3   		-1.5508796      5.0     3.0
4   		0.8288762       6.0     2.0
5    		-1.1907181      5.0     3.0

The predictor is the first principal component from other continuous measures, and the outcome variable was originally scored as a single value from 1 to 8 for some groups or as ranges (e.g. 2-5, 3-4) or for others. I tried to incorporate the uncertainty originally captured by these ranges as measurement error (mostly following the implementation in Ch 15 of McElreath’s book where he models observed divorce rates across US states as distributed around the unknown true value with a standard deviation calculated from measurement error) (please also let me know if this is an obviously terrible way of doing this). I have tried running it without the measurement error and it works fine, so I assume it has something to do with my implementation there. I have tried it with simulated data where I knew the relationship between the predictor and outcome and it gave the same issues.

Here is my data list and model (using the rethinking package)

dlist <- list(
  k_obs = df$k_mean, #outcome variable ranging from 1 to 8
  k_me = df$k_me #error around outcome ranging from 0 to 3
  k_sd = df$k_me/sd(df$k_mean),
  p = standardize(df$PC1), #mean = 0, sd = 1
  N = nrow(df)
)

mod1 <- ulam(
  alist(
    k_obs ~ dnorm(k_true , k_sd),
    vector[N]:k_true ~ dnorm(mu, sigma),
    mu <- a + bP*p,
    a ~ dnorm(4.5, 1.2),
    bP ~ dnorm(0, 1),
    sigma ~ dexp(1)