Convenience function for plotting random/group effects?

Please also provide the following information in addition to your question:

• Operating System: Mac OS 10.14.6
  • brms Version: 2.11.6

Hello all,
This is probably a daft question, as I’m relatively new to brms. Does anyone know of a convenience function for plotting random/group effects across participants or items? Something that looks like the plot produced in merTools for lme4 models is what I’m looking to produce but based on a brms model. For an example, see the first plot as you scroll down this link.
Any ideas would be appreciated.
Rich

1 Like

I use this

# Full group level estimates
ranef(k_fit_brms, groups="site", probs = 0.5)

for looking at my numbers group level effects in brms. Let me check how I have my plots setup.

1 Like

I use something like this:

k_fit_brms %>%
  spread_draws(b_cw_Intercept, r_site__cw[site,]) %>%
  # add the grand mean to the group-specific deviations
  mutate(mu = b_cw_Intercept + r_site__cw) %>%
  ungroup() %>%
  mutate(site = str_replace_all(site, "[.]", " ")) %>% 

# plot
  ggplot(aes(x = mu, y = reorder(site, mu))) +
  geom_vline(xintercept = fixef(k_fit_brms)[1, 1], color = "#839496", size = 1) +
  geom_vline(xintercept = fixef(k_fit_brms)[1, 3:4], color = "#839496", linetype = 2) +
  geom_halfeyeh(.width = .5, size = 2/3, fill = "#859900") +
  labs(x = expression("Cottonwood litterfall (g/m^2)"),
       y = "BEMP sites ordered by mean predicted litterfall") +
  theme(panel.grid   = element_blank(),
        axis.ticks.y = element_blank(),
        axis.text.y  = element_text(hjust = 0),
        text = element_text(family = "Ubuntu")) 

which isn’t really convenient but it works.

6 Likes

Coo, can you upload also a figure showing how it looks?

Oh yeah that would be helpful. :) I’ll get that as soon as I am in at work. I don’t remember where I swiped the original code from. I will dig around and see if I can find that reference.

1 Like