Confusion on difference between posterior_epred() and posterior_predict() in a mixed effects modelling context

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting to this forum but I am hopeful someone here can help me understand the difference between the functions posterior_epred() and posterior_predict() in the context of mixed effects modelling.

These functions are used in various Bayesian R packages (e.g., rstanarm, brms, marginaleffects, brmsmargins) but it is not clear to me how they differ and, most importantly, when to use one versus the other in a mixed effects modelling context.

I tried to get some insights via Twitter, which were helpful, but I find I am still confused about this. (My mind likes to complicate things and it’s entirely possible that this issue is not as complicated as I make it out to be.)

My confusion started after reading the help file for a close relative of these functions, posterior_linpred():Posterior distribution of the (possibly transformed) linear predictor — posterior_linpred.stanreg • rstanarm (mc-stan.org). According to this help file, the purpose of posterior_linpred() is to:

“Extract the posterior draws of the linear predictor, possibly transformed by the inverse-link function. This function is occasionally useful, but it should be used sparingly: inference and model checking should generally be carried out using the posterior predictive distribution (i.e., using posterior_predict).”

Prior to reading the above statement, I thought that posterior_epred() is used to compute the expected value of a response variable on the natural response scale for given predictor values and with all random effects in the model set to 0. Furthermore, I thought that posterior_predict() is used to predict new response values based on known predictor values and specified values of the random effects. But the strong wording about using the posterior_epred() function sparingly stopped me in my tracks.

Now I wonder things like: