Brms emmeans Integration (epred=TRUE bernoulli family)

I’ve recently tried using emmeans with epred=TRUE and re_formula=NULL for a bernoulli family brms model and received the following warning:

Warning message:
In mean.default(y) : argument is not numeric or logical: returning NA

Any thoughts on why this occurs with a bernoulli family brms model but not a negative binomial or zero-inflated beta? The warning goes away when I remove epred=TRUE. I’m new to these approaches and may not totally understand what epred=TRUE is doing?

2 Likes

Hi,
I think this might be a bug in emmeans - the brms support for emmeans improved recently, but is probably not complete yet. Are you sure you are using the latest version of both packages? If yes, could you provide a simple reproducible example that anyone can run (i.e. including simulated data and fitting code) to test the problem on their machine? It might be best to actually file that as an issue for emmeans on GitHub.

That’s probably a very important piece of information to understand to let you interpret the results. You may want to check out Draws from the Expected Value of the Posterior Predictive Distribution — posterior_epred.brmsfit • brms and contrast with Draws from the Posterior Predictive Distribution — posterior_predict.brmsfit • brms and Posterior Draws of the Linear Predictor — posterior_linpred.brmsfit • brms

Best of luck with your model!

Thanks! Yes I’m using the latest versions of the packages installed from the CRAN. I posted in the emmeans github and received the following response:

I think perhaps that what is happening is that epred() doesn’t produce numerical predictions. The brms package has its own emmeans support, and you may need to ask the developer of that package for details, and/or ask if the epred option should work.

I’m attaching some data and a reproducible example:

Example.csv (6.5 KB)

install.packages(“brms”)
library(brms)
install.packages(“emmeans”)
library(emmeans)