Operating System: Windows 10 Enterprise
Interface Version: RStan Version: 2.18.1
Compiler/Toolkit: Sorry, I don't know what it means
Other potential helpful information list below:
R Version: 3.4.4
RStudio Version: 1.2.1335
RTools Version: 3.5  

Hi,

I am a freshman for RStan, after install RStan as the specification from the website:
https://github.com/stan-dev/rstan/wiki/RStan-Getting-Started , then I tried to run the Example 1 (8 schools) that mentioned in the link above.

However, the compile error message is showing as below:

fit <- stan(file = '8schools.stan', data = schools_dat)

Error in compileCode(f, code, language = language, verbose = verbose) : 
  Compilation ERROR, function(s)/method(s) not created! file2638530d6dd0.cpp:8:39: fatal error: stan/model/model_header.hpp: No such file or directory
#include <stan/model/model_header.hpp>
                                       ^
compilation terminated.
make: *** [C:/PROGRA~1/R/R-34~1.4/etc/x64/Makeconf:215: file2638530d6dd0.o] Error 1
Warning message:
running command 'make -f "C:/PROGRA~1/R/R-34~1.4/etc/x64/Makeconf" -f "C:/PROGRA~1/R/R-34~1.4/share/make/winshlib.mk" -f "//domain.internal/dfs/home/chzhang/My Documents/.R/Makevars.win" CXX='$(CXX11) $(CXX11STD)' CXXFLAGS='$(CXX11FLAGS)' CXXPICFLAGS='$(CXX11PICFLAGS)' SHLIB_LDFLAGS='$(SHLIB_CXX11LDFLAGS)' SHLIB_LD='$(SHLIB_CXX11LD)' SHLIB="file2638530d6dd0.dll" WIN=64 TCLBIN=64 OBJECTS="file2638530d6dd0.o"' had status 2 
In addition: Warning message:
running command 'C:/PROGRA~1/R/R-34~1.4/bin/x64/R CMD SHLIB file2638530d6dd0.cpp 2> file2638530d6dd0.cpp.err.txt' had status 1 
Error in sink(type = "output") : invalid connection

Additionally, two pieces of information might help for the solutions:

1. I install the RStan in my company laptop;
  2. I strictly follow the installation specification from the link above to install the RStan and related things, there is no error message for installation.

Thanks for your input in advance!

Chuanwu