Comparing posteriors of predictors in brms using hypothesis

Hi

I am new to Bayesian statistics and I fit a multivariate model, in which I try to predict various EEG paramters by age.
The EEG paramters are correlated, as I am interested in “standard” paramters, and a corresponding paramter, to which a correction is applied.
So the model looks like this

fit<- brm(mvbind(eeg1_standard, eeg1_corrected, eeg2_standard...) ~age )

I am now interested, whether effect sizes (here stanardized regression coefficients) are smaller when I apply a correction to my EEG parameters.
Could this be a question answered by:

h1 <- hypothesis (fit, eeg1_standard_age > eeg1_corrected_age)

Thanks a lot in advance!

Sorry for not answering earlier… I don’t think your question can be straightforwardly answered with hypothesis. I would just use get the posterior samples for the relevant coefficients and see how often they are bigger, i.e. (code is just a sketch):

par_names <- c("eeg1_standard_age", "eeg1_corrected_age") #Guessing the names here, you should be able to find them from the summary of the fit
s <- posterior_samples(fit, pars = par_names)

p_standard_smaller <- mean(s[[par_names[1]]] < s[[par_names[2]]]])

Does that make sense?

Thank you for the input!

I tried it, and I get a value of 0.88.
However, I find it hard to interpret this in a statistical way, as my main research question is whether the influence of age on these eeg paramter changes when I am correcting them.
When I use hypothesis(fit, “eeg1_standard_age < eeg1_corrected_age”) and look at the evidence ratio, I get a value of 7.6, from which I could conclude (according to Jeffereys) that there is moderate evidence for my hyoptehsis in the current dataset. Could you somehow elaborate why comparison of the posterios isnt really appropriate this way?

Thanks a lot in advance!